2024 Awards

Congratulations to all the performers! Special Awards are chosen by the board of directors after each season. The 2024 Award winners are:

The John Tobin Award Taylor Mennenga, clarinet

  • This cash award and plaque is given in honor of John Tobin, a very talented musician who performed in Junior Philharmonic concerts many times. Funding for this award was included in his mother’s will and the award is given for an outstanding performance.

The Irving Carr Award- Nanette Kawanaka, violin

The Irving Carr Award is a cash award and plaque given on the basis of potential. It was started by the board of directors in honor of Irving Carr, the husband of Irene Carr Huggins. Ms. Huggins was president at the time and a long-time active board member.

The Scholarship Award- Connor Galle, tenor

The Scholarship Award was the first award given by the society. It was begun by Minette Starts, a long-time board member who raised the money to get it started. It is a cash award given for continuing studies.

The Platzer Award- Sophia Lucurto, soprano

The Platzer Award was started by Ms. Bobbe Ritter in honor of her parents. It is a cash award and plaque given to a young musician for Artistic Excellence in Music.

The Emily Friend Bayle Award Brett Massimi, violin

The Emily Bayle Award is a cash award and plaque given to a junior performer, eighth grade or younger, for artistic excellence. Mrs. Bayle was very active in the early years of the Jr. Philharmonic Society, happy to share her great love of music with young people and encourage them to perform and appreciate the arts as much as she did.

The Lawrence and Victoria Blanchard Ensemble Award- Grayson McMahon and Faryn Perry, dance

The Lawrence and Victoria Blanchard Ensemble Award is a  cash award given to an ensemble for an outstanding performance. It is given in honor of Lawrence and Victoria Blanchard. Mrs. Blanchard was President of the Board for many years.

The Gayle Parmelee Award for Dance- Cecelia Murray, dance

The Gayle Parmelee Award is named after long time board member Gayle Parmelee, an outstanding dancer and teacher from New Orleans.